top of page

Frowny Frown is the first in a series of 6 albums, that coinside with a 6 part comic series. This project includes a full length 12 inch colored vinyl, and a 62 page full color comic. They can be purchased together or separately. 

There's a lot that could be said about this project, I have been working on it on and off for more than 10 years. It involves characters whose names were taken from spam emails, lyrics to later installments will also be culled from spam emails. The story involves magician/scientists (called thaumatists), artists, superheroes, gods, monsters, parallel universes, possession drugs, ghost aliens, and of course politicians. 

Musically, there is a lot going on too. Lots of superimposed rhythms taken from balkan and indian traditions over brazilian chord progressions. Each album will continue the themes from the previous album and push them to new places, constantly evolving. Like an exquisite corpse, with music instead of art. 

I want to keep the online presence of this project to a minimum. It is meant to be heard on a record player, and held, and read. I hope you understand. The music is some of my favorite I've written. If you want to hear something similar, I suggest you check out "Our band could be as serious as your life."

Aaron Novik- clarinets, composer, artist 
Kasey Knudsen- alto sax 
Dina Maccabee- violin, viola 
Marie Abe- accordion 
Lisa Mezzacappa- bass 
Jamie Moore- drums 
Michael Coleman- piano 
Mark Clifford- vibraphone 
Jordan Glenn- drums 
Willie Winant- percussion 
Ches Smith- percussion

bottom of page